In life as it is in fiction….

When I teach characterization and plot, I tell my students this.

Whether or not a person is a hero is not determined by the small choices, the small mistakes.

It is determined by the tough choice, the action they take when it’s hard, when that person has the most to lose by doing what’s right.

That’s when they become a hero, when they can lose everything, but they make the right choice anyway.

And if they don’t make the right choice then, nothing else they did matters.

That’s what I tell my students about writing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Hit me with it.

