More Kindle

On a writer’s yahoo list recently we discussed the idea of naming inanimate devices. My Honda Element is Punkin but I don’t usually refer to her as anything but “the Element.” I guess I’m not inclined to name things much, though I always think it’s a cool idea. My first Mac was creatively named “Mac” and they all have been since.

In high school my friend had a green Rambler station wagon that her family called the Green Demon:


[photo source: wikimedia commons]

Erm, I’m rambling. Rambling. Get it? Oh, never mind.  (My first car was a Rambler, too. Neither my friend nor I had cool parents, it’s clear.)

So, anyway, I’m on my way to get my driver’s license renewed and will be standing in line for a long time, I fear, and am having another one of those moments when I just want to grin like an idiot. I’ll be standing in line reading my Kindle and if I finish the book I’m reading right now (The Queen’s Bastard (The Inheritors’ Cycle, Book 1)) I don’t have to have another book in my shoulder bag ready to go, because having a Kindle is like having a freaking library that weighs next to nothing. I don’t even have to have the next book I want to read chosen and downloaded.

I can stand there in line and either browse through the sample chapters I’ve already downloaded, or surf through Amazon’s Kindle store, and “click” and buy another book.

Standing there in line at the DPS.

And in seconds, it will be waiting for me to read.

I thought about calling my Kindle “Carnegie,” after the gorgeous old Carnegie Libraries, because it is a library in my hands.

I have a feeling, though, I should call her “My Dealer.”

This book habit could get expensive.

Have a good Wednesday.

Send aid to Haiti.

Go Cowboys!

2 Comments

Filed under amazon, Books, Kindle, Names

2 responses to “More Kindle

  1. My first car was called the green machine and we called my buddy’s yellow car the banana.

    I like “Dealer.” So glad to see you enjoying the Kindle, I have some books on my iPhone and it’s just perfect for times when I’m waiting in line anywhere.

  2. Yeah, the only problem I have is that people interrupt me when I’m reading to ask me about my Kindle! Which on the one hand, I don’t mind showing it off, but on the other hand, dude, I’m reading! And it just got to the good part!

Hit me with it.

