Shame, shame.

The words “police brutality” feel overwrought to me, extreme, something somebody else says, somebody who is not me.

But we have seen too many examples of police brutality recently, and especially on university campuses.

As of now, I am one of 769 wordpress bloggers who stand with Nathan Brown, Assistant Professor in the Department of English Program in Critical Theory at the University of California at Davis and his open letter to the Chancellor of his school who authorized the actions that led to pepper-spraying peaceful protesters, injuring peaceful protesters, abusing peaceful protesters.  I stand with the students and faculty at UC Berkeley.  I stand with those who exercise peace in the face of violence.

The horror is, this is not the worst of what has happened in recent days and weeks.

Is this really who we are as a nation?

Not me.

Not my nation.

“Chancellor, do you still feel threatened by the students?”

8 Comments

Filed under Misc.

8 responses to “Shame, shame.

  1. It just disgusts me to see that. I stand with them, too.

    • When this happened in the 60s it was unbelievable to me, something happening far away. Today the world is small and I feel like this is in my back yard and yet I can’t do anything about it.

  2. Robert Clark

    Pity and relevant. Nice post.

  3. Timothy Miller

    Horrifying as the first part of the UC Davis video is, the second part is inspiring. The students stand their ground and tell the cops, “We’re willing to give you a brief moment of peace. So you may take your weapons and your friends and go. Please do not return.” And the police, in their riot gear, back away and leave.

  4. I’m just so goddamned proud of these students.

Hit me with it.

