Yay, Cold Fire! Wait, Cold Magic. Yay, anyway!

So. I’ve been waiting, waiting, waiting to read Kate Elliott’s Cold Fire, the second in her Spiritwalker Trilogy. Imagine my glee when it finally showed up on my Kindle last Tuesday.

Okay, so I started reading and was pretty much lost.

Before I continue, let me say this in my defense. Here is a quote from Jia’s Dear Author review of the first book in the series, Cold Magic:

I can’t tell you exactly where I learned of Cold Magic but the description stuck with me: an Afro-Celtic post-Roman icepunk Regency novel with airships, Phoenician spies, and the intelligent descendants of troodons. I later discovered this description was taken from the author interview included in the back of the book but in terms of hooking me, it was very effective! That was such a mishmash of different ideas and concepts, I had no idea how they could possibly work together. I had to see it for myself, and I’m so glad I did.

This is a complex world. It shouldn’t be surprising that I–admittedly not a person who retains details–decided I needed to reread Cold Magic before moving forward. And boy, am I glad I did. I am enjoying the heck out of it again.

And waiting, waiting, waiting to read Cold Fire. Still.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Fantasy, Reading, Steampunk

Hit me with it.

