Everything is so complicated.

Well, it’s really not. It’s just that I make things complicated.

Like, right now, I’m adding a lot of reference books to goodreads and I don’t know whether to list them as to-read, currently reading or read. I haven’t read them cover to cover and probably won’t, but they are resources I dig into.

As far as that goes, how would you list a dictionary? Nobody (well, hardly anybody) sits down and reads one straight through, so how would you list your favorite dictionary, thesaurus, reference?

My brain needs help.

This is Peter Mark Roget, the creator of Roget’s Thesaurus. Betcha didn’t know that.

3 Comments

Filed under Goodreads, research, Writers

3 responses to “Everything is so complicated.

  1. You need a reference shelf. You can create custom shelves with any name you want. On the my books page, click on the word edit that is beside the word bookshelves on the left. Make your reference shelf exclusive and you’ll be able to have books on it that aren’t on the three default shelves.

    • I already have a reference shelf, but I didn’t know about this “exclusive” thing where I wouldn’t also have to choose to read/currently reading/read.

      Thank you, debsanswers!

  2. Hi, Patricia. Yes, I have a giveaway going in honor of the one year anasrevinry of the release of my first novel, The Darcys of Pemberley. See the August 1st post. Here’s a direct , and good luck!

Hit me with it.

