Damn, I love iTunes.

I realize that is neither profound nor timely, considering iTunes is hardly cutting edge technology.

But as I was driving today and listening to the local classical music station (WRR–the first radio station in the Great State of Texas), and as I heard the perfect mood music for a scene/chapter I’m writing, I gave a happy sigh because I knew all I had to do is go download it, and then I’d be set.

The music in question? Night on Bald Mountain

Not to be rude or anything, but this guy really does look like the kind of guy you would expect to write Night on Bald Mountain, doesn’t he?

Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky (1839 – 1891)

What music have you written to lately?

10 Comments

Filed under iPod, iTunes, Music, Writing

10 responses to “Damn, I love iTunes.

  1. freefly58

    Well to answere your question–No he does not look like any one whom would have written ” Night on Bald Mountain “-but that’s my thoughts. I just happen to be surfing WordPress and happened apon your blog post and had just spent an hourin Itunes relinking my playlist with the folder seeing as most of my playlists links had broken
    Have a good one

  2. Thanks for dropping by!

    I think he looks like the kind of wild-eyed drunk Russian who would have written it, but, um, how many wild-eyed drunk Russians did I just offend? (Russian music is my fave.)

  3. I’ve been writing to Coldplay’s new CD, Viva La Vida.

    I love iTunes because I don’t have to buy an entire CD when I just like a couple of songs from an album. If I like an entire CD, I usually buy hard copy from the store, however.

  4. Exactly. I didn’t get the Leonard Bernstein Bald Mountain because I would have had to buy the entire album and I didn’t want it. Singles are usually the way to go.

  5. Hey, Pooks!

    I don’t write to music (prefer silence), but I have played “Bald Mountain” at least a half dozen times. Did you know that the skeleton dance is played col legno by the strings? The bows are flipped over and played on the stick side rather than on the horsehair. That’s how you get that very creepy clicking sound. It’s hard on a good bow, though.

    Hmm…Thinking about the piece…You must have one wild chapter going! :D

    Jeanne

  6. Mussorgsky’s (probably) best known piano work is “Pictures at an Exhibition,” which is a musical illustration of an art show, of the works of his departed friend Viktor Hartmann.

    The thing I like best about it is the recurring theme between the painting pieces, a ponderous march from painting to painting, reflecting what a 300-lb drunk Russian sounds like inside his own head.

    Indeed, he drank himself to death at 42.

    And this is what happens when you have too many liberal arts degrees.

  7. He looks like somebody who drank himself to death at 42.

    And of course, “Night on Bald Mountain” is rom “Pictures at an Exhibition,” but you knew that.

  8. Jeanne–if you’re still around, which instrument did you play?

    Re: one wild chapter?

    Exactly!

  9. Hey, Pooks!

    I’m just finishing up my second residency at Vermont College, so I have a moment to log on. I played violin.

    You’d be proud of me. I have worked my tushie off this semester–140 pages of craft writing (novel and short story), 10 critical essays on my reading (40 pages) of 10 different historical novels.

    I’m heading back to Arizona tomorrow where I will begin work on my next semester’s writing project. The MFA program at Vermont College is wonderful!

    Back to music– I’ve played violin in orchestras off and on since I was 8. I was principal second for several years in a community orch here but dropped out this past year so I could handle the work load for my MFA. Now that I have my feet wet, though, I’m ready to go back to the orch. I won’t be principal 2nd, but I’ll just be happy sitting in the middle of section. It’s less responsibility but still fun. And I miss it.

  10. Pingback: Cuaderno de Música 1º1 » Cuadros de una exposición

Hit me with it.

